I’m not racist but… I won’t marry you?!?!?

I was working on the latest Cocktail Time post when I took a sip of coffee and flicked around the news sites.

“Flying boy found” – Right oh…

“Berlusconi anoints Blair as his choice for European President” – Hmm, may come back to that.

“Interracial couple denied marriage licence by Louisiana J.P.” – WHAT?!?!

Associated Press are the ones breaking this story about Keith Bardwell, Justice of the Peace in Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana who has refused to issue a marriage license to an interracial couple out of concern for any children the couple might have. Here’s an excerpt from Bardwell justifying his decision:

There is a problem with both groups accepting a child from such a marriage, I think those children suffer and I won’t help put them through it.

Ah… the children. Thank God you are here to save them from the evils of discrimination, Keith. I can call you Keith right? Because you’re not a racist, are you?

I’m not a racist. I just don’t believe in mixing the races that way. I have piles and piles of black friends. They come to my home, I marry them, they use my bathroom. I treat them just like everyone else.

Yes, the all-encompassing bathroom test. I see your point. Anything else to add?

I’ve been a justice of the peace for 34 years and I don’t think I’ve mistreated anybody. I didn’t tell this couple they couldn’t get married. I just told them I wouldn’t do it. I try to treat everyone equally.

So you discriminate equally? How very reasonable of you.

Oh, and Keith?  We’ve got something for you…

The prestigious Golden Turd™


Share Share

5 Responses

  1. I’m afraid that the Golden Turd is not a big enough award for this guy. What an amazing story — I had to check the date to make sure it wasn’t 1861.

  2. Or April Fools Day

  3. You’ve just re-inforced his guy’s rampant anal obsession (piles, bathroom) with this award Dr..

    So, black people come to his house, he marries them and then they need to use the bathroom? Bravo!

  4. I’ve always liked to separate those I choose not to discriminate against by allowing them use of my bathroom.

    A turd well earned.

Leave a Reply

