Why do IT guys hate Macs?

The above title is a genuine question arising from a personal experience over the weekend. Here’s what happened.

I was at a high school reunion and a small part of the evening was to be spent watching a DVD of collected video images from those high school years. The DVD was to be played through a Mac connected to a digital projector. But would the Mac work? No, it would not, despite more than 45 minutes of trying.

Rotten Apple?

Rotten Apple?

But, here’s the thing. At least three guys from that graduating class have been in IT for more than twenty years and NOT ONE of them offered a single second of help in trying to solve the problem. Why? Because, it seems, “Macs are shit and we don’t know why anyone would touch them.”

And touch it they would not. There was a remarkable solidarity and consensus amongst this group — not a finger of help was lifted.

Eventually someone brought in a PC and it worked first time.

Unsatisfied with their basic response above, I still really want to know why IT guys hate Macs.

Addendum: I just discovered this article in today’s Guardian entitled “Microsoft’s grinning robots or the Brotherhood of the Mac. Which is worse?” Here’s part of the author’s rave (which I do sneakingly have to agree with for the most part):

I admit it: I’m a bigot. A hopeless bigot at that: I know my particular prejudice is absurd, but I just can’t control it. It’s Apple. I don’t like Apple products. And the better-designed and more ubiquitous they become, the more I dislike them. I blame the customers. Awful people. Awful. Stop showing me your iPhone. Stop stroking your Macbook. Stop telling me to get one.

Seriously, stop it. I don’t care if Mac stuff is better. I don’t care if Mac stuff is cool. I don’t care if every Mac product comes equipped with a magic button on the side that causes it to piddle gold coins and resurrect the dead and make holographic unicorns dance inside your head. I’m not buying one, so shut up and go home. Go back to your house. I know, you’ve got an iHouse. The walls are brushed aluminum. There’s a glowing Apple logo on the roof. And you love it there. You absolute MONSTER.

Further reading: “I’ll buy anything as long as it’s shiny and made by Apple”

Share Share

15 Responses

  1. i couldn’t tell you
    a friend of mine is the same
    DETESTS macs big time

    It’s the wierdest thing. He spent one hour one evening berating me intellectually and as a person of any worth altogether because I want a mac. It was actually quite funny as he fancies himself to be spiritually superior. Good times. 🙂 Thank You and Cheers!

    • “Spiritually superior” — well that’s not normal for PC users. Yes, I say get a Mac but be prepared to use your rainy day funds for expensive components and frequent repairs.

  2. i’m not even going to bite at this…

  3. The amount of grief I got from mac users to force me to become like them… it’s like I joined some shiny eyed cult or something

  4. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

  5. I’m torn. The evangelists keep trying (quite persuasively) to get me to join the Apple cult. So, because of the persuasiveness, I have found myself skirting the perimeter of the cult compound with my ipod and iphone, both of which I love. Ish.

    The bit I don’t love is Apple’s super, super annoying habit of forcing you to constantly update your software and refusing to allow their files to play on PCs or play PC files on their own hardware. So frustrating. So monumentally frustrating. Did I mention it was frustrating?

    • The evangelists finally got me to join and I am rather enjoying their cult.
      But every religion has its downsides too…
      Here’s a link to an interesting comment on Talking Points Media. The writer is a mac user since 1985 but still says this….

      “One thing that fascinates me is the way that Apple continues to maintain a cool/benevolent/almost counter-culture reputation, while actually being an incredibly aggressive, ruthless, arguably monopolistic company (the way they are cornering the music and phone businesses, and the way they so carefully guard applications on the iphone)”.

  6. […] since last year, I think it dovetails nicely with the Guardian extract from an earlier post “Why do IT Guys hate Macs”. But am still not sure if its dissing Apple or the Cult of […]

  7. Couldn’t agree more with DrThrottling – Apple is losing the alt.culture tag, but still kicks absolute arse when ease of use and love for the machine is concerned. I’m particulalry talking about little extra cool stuff like system wide shortcuts for special characters and accents (for example é, ™, ® and µ).

    Sure there’s annoying restrictions and corporate crap, but if they let junk on the iPhone you’ll end up with a Windows-like junk yard (MySpace) rather than clean beauty (Facebook)!

    Your DVD / Mac / Projector problem was probably hardware related – probably through a dodgy adapter (Digital to VGA perhaps).

    I’ve used many systems and OSs: Vic20, Amiga, MS-DOS, SunOS, Apple 1 through 10, Windows 1 through XP (never like Vista), and a tiny bit of Linux.

    So now? MacOS of course. I can’t abide anything less for my job, which is in video, images and type.

    So yes, creative people like the MacOS because it is designed well. It’s just better.

    • As an IT guy I do hate apple. When something does go wrong there is nothing to trouble shoot. No error codes no event log no service failure notice. (for expample when trying to connect to wifi and it fails all you get is connection faile. WTF? With a PC trouble shooting goes much deeper there are more ways to investigate hardware, software, application or OS issues. With-in the heart of the apple OS UNIX is running the show. How many Apple users have ever gone into the unix shell to fix an issue? The answer..take it to the apple store. Who makes profit? Apple does. That to me sucks plain and simple the system is just not deep enough to throughly investigate real issues when they do arise. Simple yes, easy to use yes…untill something goes wrong… Oh one other thing try running a really heavy app like AutoCad on a MAC and watch the hicups and lag.Plus they nickle and dime you to death the slogan… “theres an app for that” translates into you have to download and “pay” for that. And last but no least no HD space as they want everything uploaded to the Icloud. Has anybody seen all the naked celebrity pics hacked from a security hole in the Icloud last week?
      I

  8. I realize this is an old article, but I was wondering the same thing recently. I’m in graphic design school, where we use Macs exclusively. I was telling a fellow student that I can’t wait to get a job because I need a new iMac. Her response was that she would NEVER get a Mac because her dad’s an IT guy and doesn’t know how to fix them. I tried (in vain) to assure her that compared to a PC, they really rarely need fixing, but she seemed convinced of their inferiority. It made me wonder if IT guys are down on Macs because they know deep down that they’d be out of a job if everyone had one? Lol. Who knows. I just know my time is more important than all the hours daily I used to spend just trying to get my PCs to operate normally. Switching was the best decision I’ve ever made and it baffles me when supposedly smart people in the computer world can’t see the value of something made so obviously better.

  9. My reasoning…. the same hardware in a PC would run around $500. And it would run just as well… Plus there is so much more software out for PC that (for me as an IT admin) it is crazy to go to a near-proprietary platform.

Leave a Reply

